Daily Prompt: Simply the Best

by eionblake

When and where do you do your best thinking? In the bathroom? While running? Just before bed, or first thing in the morning? On the bus?

I tend to think the best at night, when I am on my bed, about to fall asleep. As a child, I used to lie on my bed and wish for many things that I knew would never happen to me, like gain a superpower, or have a sibling. It is on my bed that I bring up good memories, sad memories, even memories that I do not want to have. Thinking on the bed when it is close to midnight helps to clear my mind. I hide myself behind a mask, a very happy and cheery mask for that matter, even though I would kill to be the person I am inside. So every night before I fall asleep, I let walls come down even if it is for a few minutes, before I collect myself and build the walls back up again, with a fort and all. It is when I am in my bed, that I am able to think the best.

